Indian Politics - Questions (Section-1)
1The members of the panchayat are
A. nominated by the district officerB. the electorates of the respective territorial constituencies
C. nominated by local self-government minister of the state D. nominated by the block development organization
View Answer
2The members of the Rajya Sabha are elected by
A. the peopleB. Lok Sabha
C. elected members of the legislative assembly D. elected members of the legislative council
View Answer
3The name of the Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi islands was changed to Lakshadweep by an Act of Parliament in
A. 1970B. 1971
C. 1972 D. 1973
View Answer
4The Parliament of India cannot be regarded as a sovereign body because
A. it can legislate only on subjects entrusted to the Centre by the ConstitutionB. it has to operate within the limits prescribed by the Constitution
C. the Supreme Court can declare laws passed by parliament as unconstitutional if they contravene the provisions of the Constitution D. All of the above
View Answer
5The power to decide an election petition is vested in the
A. ParliamentB. Supreme Court
C. High courts D. Election Commission
View Answer
6The present Lok Sabha is the
A. 13th Lok SabhaB. 14th Lok Sabha
C. 15th Lok Sabha D. 16th Lok Sabha
View Answer